Sheboygan A's Baseball

Former A’s Pitcher Wolcott Honored

Posted: July 2, 2008

DURHAM, N.C. – Duke senior right-hander Andrew Wolcott was named to the 2009 ABCA/Rawlings All-Atlantic Region second team, the American Baseball Coaches Association announced Tuesday.

Wolcott, a 6-6, 240 pound starter who was drafted in the 17th round of the 2009 MLB Draft by the Arizona Diamondbacks, emerged as one of the ACC’s best starters in 2009. A first team All-ACC selection, Wolcott went 8-3 and had the third lowest ERA in the conference at 2.77. A product of Grayslake, Ill. (Warren Township), Wolcott led the ACC in innings pitched through the end of the ACC Tournament with 94.1 in his senior season.

Pitching primarily on Saturdays, Wolcott was one of the key factors in Duke’s 15-15 ACC record last season, which marked the second most ACC victories in school history. He logged a 3.17 ERA in conference play and defeated five of the six top-25 teams he faced. Included in his resume were wins over No. 1 North Carolina, No. 6 Miami, No. 7 Georgia Tech and No. 13/17 Clemson. Wolcott finished 5-0 with a 2.66 ERA against top-25 teams.

Wolcott, now playing with the Rookie League Yakima Bears in Arizona’s minor league system, walked just 21 batters last year and held opposing hitters to a .252 average. He became the first pitcher in school history to notch an ABCA All-Region selection and the first Blue Devil since 1999 to appear on the regional squad.

2009 ABCA All-Atlantic Region Team
First Team

C: Richard Jones, The Citadel
1B: Dustin Ackley, North Carolina
2B: Ryan Wood, East Carolina
3B: Joey Bergman, College of Charleston
SS: Chase Austin, Elon
OF: Pat Irvine, Elon
OF: Jarrett Parker, Virginia
OF: Luke Murton, Georgia Tech
DH: Kyle Roller, East Carolina
SP: Deck McGuire, Georgia Tech
SP: Danny Hultzen, Virginia
SP: Cody Wheeler, Coastal Carolina
SP: Sean Gilmartin, Florida State
RP: Kyle Bellamy, Miami (Fla.)

Second Team
C: Griffin Benedict, Georgia Southern
1B: David Anderson, Coastal Carolina
2B: Brandon Sizemore, College of Charleston
3B: Isaac Harrow, Appalachian State
SS: Brent Greer, Western Carolina
OF: Stephen Batts, East Carolina
OF: Tyler Holt, Florida State
OF: Mike McGee, Florida State
DH: Adam Rice, Coastal Carolina
SP: Chris Mederos, Georgia Southern
SP: Andrew Wolcott, Duke
SP: Alex White, North Carolina
RP: Zach Quate, Appalachian State

(article from

The Sheboygan A's are members of the Wisconsin State League and Northeastern Wisconsin Baseball League. The A's have helped develop more than 43 players that have reached professional baseball, including 2002 World Series Champion Jarrod Washburn (Anaheim Angels). All Sheboygan A's home games are played at Wildwood Baseball Park in Sheboygan. Connect with the A's on FacebookTwitterInstagram and YouTube.